Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
44HD Install and regear

Thread: 44HD Install and regear

1. #1 44HD Install and regear 
    This is my first attempt at a writeup so put it where you think it may belong.

Here's where it starts

Pull all of your cover bolts but the top one and pop the cover loose with a weapon of your choice..I use a deadblow hammer.

I had a leaky pinion seal too

I wondered why my pig got water inside and my antilock quit working....I found out why.

Here's the inside with stock gearing and center pin turned so you can see the center pin bolt that has to be removed to get the center pin out. You need a E8 torx for this and it's easier if you take off the passenger carrier bearing bolts first to allow straighter access.

For those who have never had your carrier out this is what a 44HD limited slip diff looks like disassembled.....except for that broken clutch plate...that's bad

Here's a closeup of one of the idle spider gears that was damaged by parts of the cluth floating around.

I didn't go into detail on extracting the carrier as that should be pretty self evident....take the 4 carrier bolts out and gently pry out the carier.
    I also didn't go into detail on pulling the pinion. I used a pipe wrench to hold the yoke and a 1 5/16 socket to remove the pinion nut.. Changed the pinion seal and reassembled in reverse order with new bearings. I did add an extra shim under the pinion bearing to help make up for the difference in pinion gear size...it worked for me.