Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
4.7 Timing Chain Cover Replacement

Thread: 4.7 Timing Chain Cover Replacement

1. #1 4.7 Timing Chain Cover Replacement 
    This should probably be in the repair subforum but im still a newb and cant post there.

Im having a slow drippy drippy of coolant and oil (separately from different sources) from the front end of my 4.7 and im going to just replace all the possible culprits in one fell swoop. Ive ordered an new timing chain cover plate and gasket along with a new front main seal and harmonic balancer. Im waiting to order a water pump until I get a look at the current one since its working fine currently (gasket might be leaking). My thermostat is also working fine so I may just blast it with some brake clean and reinstall it in the new tc cover.

Im just looking for some wisdom as to potential pitfalls of this job or other maintenance that should be done while im tearing into that area.

Thanks in advance

2. #2 Re: 4.7 Timing Chain Cover Replacement 
    After doing a but more reading, im going to go ahead and spring for the water pump and thermostat...

3. #3 Re: 4.7 Timing Chain Cover Replacement 
    My only advice is to use a vacuum cooling system filler. I've had too many bleeder screws pull the threads out of the aluminum housing, I don't touch them anymore.

4. #4 Re: 4.7 Timing Chain Cover Replacement 
    So I spent this past Saturday swapping my timing chain cover and everything attached to it. I found a thread on another forum about timing chain covers pitting through to the block and dumping coolant into the oil so I bought a new cover casting. I'm glad I did because upon removing my water pump I found a pitted mess inside the housing.