Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

96 ZJ Beater 5.9 46re Clayton LAs

Thread: 96 ZJ Beater 5.9 46re Clayton LAs

1. #1 96 ZJ Beater 5.9 46re Clayton LAs 
    I'm copying and pasting from another forum to get it up to date.

I picked up a 96 ZJ earlier this week for $2300. 5.2, auto, 242, 7" Clayton long arm, snorkel, ARB bumper, rock sliders, worn 34" Swampers and for some reason both diffs are still open. It def needs some TLC, but every option still works including the A/C and there is virtually no rust. I'm new to modding ZJs so any input or advice is appreciated.

Immediate plans are stick new rod and main bearings in it this week. It doesn't knock but looses oil press at idle and I've already tried replacing the op sensor. Install a SYE (I'm not sure if the rear driveshaft is longer than stock, but it def does not have a SYE and driveline vibes are very minimal, who knows.), stick a Spartan or Aussie in the rear, OTK steering, possibly swap a hp30 up front, more armor and skids, new tires, lights etc.

It will def be a never ending project, but I'm excited that for the first time ever I have a dedicated off road rig. I plan on keeping it street legal, but its not gonna be daily driven.

Crappy cell pics.

Loading it up to bring it home.

In my garage.

Sitting next to my friends Rubicon.

I decided to wash it.

2. #2 Re: 96 ZJ Beater 5.9 46re Clayton LAs 
    I stuck bearings in it and I'm not happy with the oil pressure. I think someone ran it low on oil and I think the cam bearings are bad.