Thread: 42RE rebuild

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
  1. #1 42RE rebuild 
    Driveshafts and transfer case are out, and the trans is almost out. This is my first attempt at rebuilding a trans. I bought the ATGS manual, but if anyone has any links to any pictures of the process it would be most helpful.

I also don't know how far to get into it. My only problem is a severe shudder, which I think i narrowed down to the torque converter. I bought a new converter and in the process of taking things apart, I figured I might as well rebuild the trans since prior to the shudder it was slipping from 1st to 2nd. More or less I can get away with just putting new clutch packs in it right? There is no metal in the pan and other than those two problems it seems sound. 110K on a 2000 trans.

I'll be doing this on my downtime from work, so it will take a while, but any help would be great and I'll keep updating as I go along. I'll also be putting a new chain in the transfer case and possibly the SYE from tom woods.

Should be fun as the final product will give me much piece of mind.
    Balltastic.

2. #2 Re: 42RE rebuild 
    take picssssss
    95 Rubicon ZJ-60/14b-40" LTBs on 17" ORO beadlocks-full hydro
    Uber one Ton ZJ Tech
    PSC Full Hydro Tech for ZJ
    Crawler Ready Motor Mount Install

3. #3 Re: 42RE rebuild 
    I will. I would like someone who has had a late model 42RE apart to share some pics with ME. I'm pretty sure everything will go well though. If anyone knows anything that goes above and beyond removing, cleaning, and reinstalling the pieces I take out of it, please let me know.
    Balltastic.

4. #4 Re: 42RE rebuild 
    While you have the trans apart you can put a mild shift kit in it, as well as drill the valve body so it flows trans fluid in park, as opposed to just neutral

i cant remember if the 42re would allow you to drill the valve body out more to have it flow better, something to look into

5. #5 Re: 42RE rebuild