PDA

View Full Version : 110v welder and stock d35 control arms brackets onto a 8.8?

DJJordache
07-18-2006, 02:16 PM
yeah I know I'm gonna catch some crap about asking this, but I have a 110v Lincoln welder this one to be exact (http://www.mylincolnelectric.com/Catalog/equipmentdatasheet.asp?p=7101) (using .035 flux core) it says it will weld up to 1/4" steel with 100amps MAX output, could I use this to weld on the stock dana 35 brackets onto the 8.8? and still be SAFE!

I was thinking that I could do multiple passes (with enough cooling between passes) and weld on both sides of the brackets vs the one side stock. And also possibly beef them up with extra plate accross the opening of the control arm brackets.

I'm no hardcore pro at welding but I have taken a local community college class with 42 hours of instruction on welding so I'm not too bad if I must say so myself:D but in the class we were using huge 220v miller setups.

so in short I know a 220v would be best but if I used the one I linked to would it still be safe with the correct prep and everything?

Cue-Ball
07-18-2006, 02:31 PM
Anyway you could do it at the school on one of their welders??

DJJordache
07-18-2006, 02:35 PM
ps: I'm going to make a writeup of my 8.8 swap when I get everything ready for it, and I'm going to make it KEEP the ABS:screwy::D and b/c I like a challenge I am going to try and make it work by two different ways:
1. the way Tom did it by mounting the ZJ tone rings and ZJ sensors to the 8.8
2. adapting the Ford system to work with the Jeep system. since the 8.8 tone ring is in the dif and has 108 teeth and each ZJ tone ring has 54 teeth
108/2=54 with some mods to the Ford system I bet I can get it to work:D

DJJordache
07-18-2006, 02:37 PM