PDA

View Full Version : flux vs gas?

ILikeMud
06-26-2006, 12:50 PM
Got weld up a bumper for my winch this weekend so I can go on a run next weekend.
Now I haven't bought a welder as I don't have the funds and buying one is another few weeks off. So I can either have a friend with a gas mig do it for me or I can save the gas money and rent a flue core mig welder from Home Depot and do it myself.

Which is better to do flux or mig? I really need to get this done this weekend.

DJJordache
06-26-2006, 12:55 PM
I am no pro on this by any means but some others that I have talked to say that someone with welding skills can make the same strength weld with either.... but what do I know I only slept at a Holiday Inn Select =)

Jim311
06-26-2006, 01:58 PM
Flux core is better for windy conditions and dirty metal, and it's also supposed to be better for welding the thicker stuff if you have a lower powered welder like mine. I have a 140 amp Lincoln and I don't think I'll convert it to gas any time soon. Gas is better for welding thinner stuff and will make your welds look purdy, although an experienced welder can make due with either.

ILikeMud
06-26-2006, 02:25 PM
So it's nothing on the penetration side?

I've only ever used gas and I'm fairly decent with it. Since my friend is renting a welder this weekend, I think I'll spilt with him and get this thing done.

ELLLLLIOTTTTT
06-26-2006, 02:36 PM
the majority of my stuff is made with a flux core lincoln 135. I will convert it to gas eventually but no time soon. It does good enough work for bumpers, sliders, etc. What Jim said is pretty much right on.

ILikeMud
06-26-2006, 02:40 PM
Awesome, so I guess I'll finally have a bumper on my shit box again this weekend.

nate
06-26-2006, 03:15 PM
Flux core welding is so dirty!

I like MIG, though I bet the TIG guys say MIG is dirty

grandwheeler
06-26-2006, 04:18 PM