PDA

View Full Version : ARB Air locker and gear install questions.

Tommy
07-18-2005, 12:20 AM
Finally had a day to tear down the rear and attempt ot get my gears and ARB installed. I had a couple questions, this is my first attempt at installing an ARB.

Is it normal for the the pinion gear to be so much smaller than the stock one? I went from 4.10's to 5.38's and I can't get the back lash right. It has way to much. The instructions say .50 mm is acceptable and I have way more. I have the carrier set way to the right with only the master shim in and the ring side shimmed totally up and I can't get it right. I screwed with the pinion depth some but it doesn't seem to be coming together quite right. I feel like I used way to many shims. I need to take a pictuire but the differnce in size of the pinion gears is substantial . I was getting a little frustrated so I had to just walk away for the day. Any suggestions? I wish I had my camera with me.

LouisianaZJ
07-18-2005, 12:27 AM
yes as you get into low ass gears like that the pinion is tiny

what kinda axle is it? if it is like a d44 it is going to be fairely small

dont know much about the gear install. does the pinion have any markings on it like numbers. i think that has to do with setting the initial pinion depth or so i have read

JpRngr
07-18-2005, 01:53 AM
Tommy,
Sounds like you got the wrong carrier or gears. Sounds like you got a carrier for the higher ratio(i.e. stock gears) rather than the lower(5.38's) ratio carrier. The lower ratio one moves the ring gear closer to the smaller pinion. Either that or you need a thick gear set for your set-up.

Did that make sense?

Corey

Tommy
07-18-2005, 12:09 PM