PDA

View Full Version : Caster

nate
06-20-2005, 05:43 PM
If I take my angle-o-meter (tech term here haha) and put it on the top of the ball joint with the wheels pointed straight, is that going to give me a decent measurement of caster??

I know you need a caster sweep guage to do it right, so I'm told. I never got into alignments when I worked in a shop, just grease monkey for the most part.

Anyone willing to take a few mins to check theres? Someone with a pro aligment done would help. I'm at 10* right now, I think I need to adjust. Steering is fine and all, death wobble is so-so, pinion angle is kinda shitty though.

FinlayZJ
06-20-2005, 09:25 PM
I just put this in your other thread, but it helps to visualize:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v296/FinlayZJ/caster.jpg

Kraqa
06-20-2005, 10:20 PM
using a angle o meter will give you a caste measurement but it wont be nearly as acurate if done right. by a computer. although i kjwo i knwo this is a total master of the obviouse post but still.

i have always done my own allignments but i never worry abotu caster i always figure out my pinion angle and leave it at that.

nate
06-20-2005, 11:09 PM
Pic isn't working at the moment. Probably work computer blocking it.

Kraga. Yeah my pinion angle isn't the best, so I think I have too much caster.

I'm not too worried about the aligment being totally accurate... -+ 1/8" is good enough for me. Figure the Jeep doesn't see alot of street use and it's going to get banged around on the trail anyway.

I think what I'm going to do is install a steering stabilizer and see what that does for me. They work on the caster.... 1 thing at a time so I can rule stuff out.

Kraqa
06-21-2005, 12:59 AM
whats you pinion angle at??

what front axle are you runngn again/

i'm runnign stock front shaft with double cardian at the t-case and abotu +5* pinion angl with no vides and almost perfict caster.

but i have a high pinion.

nate
06-21-2005, 02:27 AM