PDA

View Full Version : Hobart 180?

ATL ZJ
02-11-2005, 07:19 PM
I need a welder. I need it to be able to at least weld 1/4 steel in a single pass. I'm a college student so money's always tight. I'm looking at the Hobart 180. It seems to fit most of the specs I want.

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=00 920503000

I found it on CyberWeld.com also for $40 less, but I think I want to get it from Sears and take advantage of their 2 year 0% interest deal so I can have it all spring, rather than wait til I have the money in the summer. I know, buying on credit is not the smartest thing, but I know for a fact that I will have the funds coming in this summer, so that is not a concern.

Anyone using this machine? I know Miller and Lincoln are better quality-wise, but I figure by the time I wear the parts out, I'll have a real job and can just swap the good Miller stuff in, since it's all compatible.

Nordic1
02-12-2005, 01:34 AM
I bought my welder on sears credit... they opened me up on a 1400 dollar credit and I'm doing the same 2 year 0% program... although I've already paid the welder off and continue to buy other tools, the sears credit program worked well for me. I might be getting a used Miller 210 or 250 from a buddie however if I don't I'll be going to a hobart 180 (most likely) or a lincoln 175 or Hobart 210 from sears.com.

OverkillZJ
02-12-2005, 04:31 AM
Hobart 180 IS Miller 180 (built by Miller.) Even the gun says miller. And the regulator.

Differences: Hobart has plastic rollers as opposed to metal, and has a cheaper transformer of some form. But... Miller parts fir the Hobarts as replacements.

nate
02-12-2005, 05:02 AM
Not bad. I can get it for $500, though I've never seen one at the store... I love working at Sears :D

Jim311
02-12-2005, 03:06 PM
500 bucks is a damn good deal 8)