PDA

View Full Version : Crankcase Ventilation CCV

irshrdneck
01-09-2005, 04:40 PM
Ok, first post on this site, but im not a newbie to the Zj, so no newbie jokes. Ok, anyway, lastnight i was going to clean out my ccv fitting.So after searching the haynes manual i determined that the ccv was 2 diffrent fittings on the valve cover,(remember I6.) the one in front connected to the air box, the one in the rear connected to the intake manifold. Ok, so i pulled the hose off the front fitting, then attempted to pull the fitting itslelf. Now it was in there tight. so after a little work i got it out, and then realized that this is not the ccv its just like a return line for the fumes left in the crankcase. So my first question is how do i get this fitting back into the valve cover.Its not rubber its tapered so it sticks in there and the lip is not rubber its just hard plastic. :?: Second question, where is the ccv? Any help or opinion is welcome.

OverkillZJ
01-09-2005, 04:47 PM
Only Newbies use the Haynes manual (crap)

Get the FSM!

irshrdneck
01-09-2005, 04:53 PM
Mabey that was my problem, any ideas?

gearhead313
01-09-2005, 06:07 PM
damn noob :lol: ccv is ghey, just put a baby filter on that shit

irshrdneck
01-09-2005, 06:32 PM
Dont you need a vacuum tho, Has anybody done this?

gearhead313
01-09-2005, 06:37 PM
there's no need for vacuum. All that does is suck the fume into the intake and reburn it. if you have a motor that has blow-by for example, all the pcv system will do it worsen it exponentially.

TrojanMan
01-30-2005, 11:55 PM
They're two part. One is a little plastic elbow, the other part is a rubber grommet. Seperate the two. Press the grommet in first, then the elbow goes straight down in. Its a sonofabitch if you try to do it any other way.. trust me, I know.

Krawlfish
05-16-2005, 10:17 PM