PDA

View Full Version : Looking for comments on my setup...

Hurricane 4x4
11-14-2004, 09:21 PM
First off.. I am new to the offroad world (in jeeps anyway). I have a 1996 zj 4.0 4x4 (selec-trac). I have been wheeling a few times with friends and am hooked.

My jeep is 100% D.D. and i use it most every weekend to pull a trailer with my motocross bikes to various tracks around the state. It needs to stay good at this!

I dont do any extreme wheeling (like some of you) but i would like my rig to be capable and durable on the trails. Currently the jeep is stock... save for some 235/75/15 allterrains... and a trailer hitch of course.

I dont really wheel in any rocks, but I probably can see bolting on skids for added peice of mind. I would like to hear from those with experience what skids (tcase, gas tank etc) would be necessary... and where to get (pull from a wrecked upcountry?)

Also i would probably need some tow hooks. The rear is covered because of the hitch, but for the front I am looking at rusty's... anyone used them?
I hear kevin's radiator support is the best front tow point available on the market... but it is pricey, and I am fairly easy on the jeep anyway.

As for the lift... 2" pucks seem to be the way to go. I have recently installed new shocks (cheap stock replacements from carquest)... and am looking at the rocky-road outfitters setup... $200 with dotesch shocks. As for the tires... I think i may wait and see if my current tires look goofy (small) with the lift, since they are nearly brand new. I hear that you can fit 31's with a BB, but they looked stuffed... something I do not want. Anyone tried 30's with a BB?

Thanks for any feedback!

Hurricane 4x4
11-14-2004, 09:23 PM
Also... I have heard about an issue with the front driveshaft being weak. Will this be a problem with a 2in lift?

LouisianaZJ
11-15-2004, 12:01 AM
just get rusty's tow hooks and a t-case skid first thing

2" BB will not need new driveshafts

you should run 31's with a BB