PDA

View Full Version : Ok, truck adivse needed. Might be getting rid of the chevy

Trancezj
09-16-2004, 11:21 AM
Ok, so the rear leaf spring broke on the 3500. My dads truck is all to shit too, but we talked about me giving him this one back (I bought it from him last month) and me getting something else and him trading that one in. Really the only question I have, is do you think I could get a ~decent tow vehicle for 12-16k? I was thinking '98 or around f250 or something. I'm new to the whole "big" truck seen so I'm a newb at know how much they are. I can't really afford to buy a new truck this year with the wedding next year and all. I dunno, I'm paying no intrest and 300 a month to my dad right now, and I really have no idea what I could get with out paying out the ass. Suggestions? It's been a shitty week and at least for a couple of days the ZJ is my DD. Swerving to work every morning, no sway bars, and a shitty steering set up isn't the best way to start your day.

MaineZJ
09-16-2004, 12:02 PM
new leaf springs?

Trancezj
09-16-2004, 12:37 PM
new leaf springs?
well.... duh. But it's more than that. I had zero load on this thing. My dad didn't tow with it, I do. The guy before did. I'm wondering how hard this thing has been beat down. Plus, it's not perfect. It's got pleanty of issues. Not to mention I'm really not very impressed with it's towing abilitys. Not at all. Basically I'm wondering if i should get out now. All I really need to know is if I could possibly find something I could tow one jeep(zj) with fair for 12-16k.

robselina
09-16-2004, 01:15 PM
you should be able to get a good tow rig for that.