PDA

View Full Version : WJ Tranny

rizzo
07-03-2004, 04:50 PM
I am a noob here but no where else. I have a 45RFE tranny in my 99 4.7. It has kerplunked! I want to put the 5-45rfe that replaced it from the 200 on up in there. Do I need the computer for it too? I am positive that it just bolts up...this is more or less a computer ?.

jwbronco
07-03-2004, 05:41 PM
They are the same transmission, the difference being a update in software for the PCM which gives you the second overdrive in the 99 and 00 models. I'm still waiting for someone to make some heavyduty parts for it. So what exactly failed in it? I have over 100k on my 99 now with the 45re tranny.

rizzo
07-03-2004, 06:08 PM
How sure are you? If I buy that bad boy tranny...I do NOT need a new computer? I just got a code P 0700 and my 4th gear is not working at all. It went out. This is my 4th tranny! I fawking hate dealing with this....

jwbronco
07-03-2004, 06:44 PM
I had a code 0700 on mine before and it was the output speed sensor, only cost me $14. Supposedly that is a common problem with them, the input speed sensor could be it too which is supposed to be the same sensor according to the dealer when I bought mine. I would try that first unless your sure its the tranny. When mine went bad it was all jacked up. I will try to verify the differences between the 545re and 45re and post it as soon as possible.

jwbronco
07-03-2004, 06:57 PM
Automatic transmission, new 545RFE five-speed with 4.7-liter engine provides a second overdrive ratio for increased highway fuel economy and reduced engine noise at highway speeds (Note: A Flash upgrade was introduced on September 15, 2000 which when performed on 1999 and 2000 models adds the new second overdrive ratio to upgrade those transmissions to 5-speeds)

direct quote from www.wjjeeps.com/newoptions.htm