PDA

View Full Version : Info on what steel sizing

FearTheDentist
07-29-2010, 11:10 PM
I'm planning to put up deer fence around my property- goddamn things are thicker than flies on :poke: and destroy anything you try to plant in the yard, wife won't let me make a "deer launcher". I'm going to be putting a gate across the driveway but want to make a "deer grate" (like a cattle grate you'd find across roads in cattle grazing land) in front of it to further discourage them (Bambi will have a hard time jumping the gate with a broken ankle). I've got very little fabricating experience, but I've got to start somewhere and this looks pretty simple.

My crappy photochop diagram is basically what I have in mind- 4'x4' panels using 1" angle (pointy side up eg. ^ ^ ^ etc) spaced 4" or so apart on 1" square tube for the structural elements. The panels would be set over a ditch 12" deep, supported on a concrete lip, with the angle oriented perpendicular to the drive. So, my question is- with the design I have in mind, would 1"x1"x1\8" angle set on 1" x .120 wall square tube be stout enough to stand up to normal passenger vehicles over years of use?

I'm probably over-thinking this, but have little practical experience in this realm and don't want to be finding out the hard way that I didn't make it strong enough...

OverkillZJ
07-29-2010, 11:26 PM
I like the deer launcher idea...

FearTheDentist
07-29-2010, 11:29 PM
I like the deer launcher idea...

Right into the flaming pit of death. Mmm... bar-b-que

it usually runs fine
07-29-2010, 11:33 PM
just use cheap pipe from the scrap yard. it's cheaper and would look and work better. like 2inch or sohttp://www.hawgtraps.com/images/cattleguard2.JPG

ArloGuthroJeep
07-30-2010, 12:11 AM
Yeah, uhm, deer can jump. A long ways...

FearTheDentist
07-30-2010, 07:44 AM
just use cheap pipe from the scrap yard. it's cheaper and would look and work better. like 2inch or so