PDA

View Full Version : Snap On vs. Matco vs. Cornwell

Inavacuum
11-19-2008, 12:47 AM
Well....here's the deal guys. I'm offered a 50-60% discount by all three of these tool manufacturers because I'm a student. Snap On is by far the most expensive at around $5428 (list ~$12,000) with Matco not too far behind at about $4665, and Cornwell being the most affordable at about $3147. All three of these quotes contain a very similar line up of tools and a very similar sized box. I was just hoping somebody here who is in the field would shed some light on which company they would go with, given the student discount the opportunity, and why.

utah_ZJ
11-19-2008, 01:00 AM
Snap On is my favorite if money is no object but when it comes to a better balance between quality and price I would say Matco.

nate
11-19-2008, 01:22 AM
I'm the tool guy at work and we used to buy only Snap On until I started having issues with customer service from the rep. It was a hassle to get him to come out. Wouldn't show up at appointed times, then wouldn't answer his phone or return calls, emails, etc. I turned in some broken tools 4 months ago and still no replacement to give you an idea.
I flat out told him I was going with Matco if he didn't shape up. It helped for a few months and that was it.

Now keep in mind we spend some serious $$ with these guys. I have almost $30k of tools and 3 boxes on order with Matco right now actually.

Now it's Matco and I've been happy with them. Broken tool? I just call the rep and he ships a new one to me. Doesn't give me the 20 question routine on why it broke and hmmms and haaass about maybe not being able to replace it, etc.
I just take the broken on and throw it in the box, stick the UPS label on it and UPS takes care of the rest.

The only thing I hate is some of their stuff is neon colors, like bright orange screwdriver handles, etc. Reminds me of Harbor Freight stuff for whatever reason.