PDA

View Full Version : this welder look decent?

Derek33
06-02-2008, 12:17 PM
Im sure this is a beaten topic. again, im still a complete noob to welders.

would this welder be worth it?

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=55525

I want a welder that i can teach myself with (all the classes around my area ended already) and a welder that will do most of the work i need on my jeep. ie: unibody brace, rear long arm brackets, rear roll cage when i decide to chop the back half off. etc

for the record, i do plan on doing alot of practice before touching a welder to my jeep.

if this welder will suffice, what else should i buy to run it properly?

thanks

derek

ArloGuthroJeep
06-02-2008, 12:31 PM
Get a tank, welding with flux core wire is going to suck. Helmet, gloves, clamps.

grandmaster
06-02-2008, 12:48 PM
Get a tank, welding with flux core wire is going to suck. Helmet, gloves, clamps.

Honestly, i really like the flux core wire. Its really nice, but if you weld over the same spot it needs to be wire brushed first.

Put it this way, if your going to be doing a lot of welding outside (like not in the garage) then use the flux core, if not the gas is just going to get blown away. If inside, either will work, i think its just preference.

ATL ZJ
06-02-2008, 12:51 PM
We're getting ahead of ourselves by jumping into the MIG vs. flux core discussion. In my experience, the HF welders have horribly brief duty cycles. Shielding gas is irrelevant when the machine is too overheated to strike an arc.

ArloGuthroJeep
06-02-2008, 12:56 PM