PDA

View Full Version : Hummer Coil Spring Conversion

Crasher
04-28-2008, 03:45 PM
I've been monitoring this site for about 6 months and have gained a lot of info for setting my ZJ up for the trails we want to run. My son has an H3 Hummer that he wants to improve its articulation. It has the stock leaf springs and would like to look into converting the rear to coils. He ran my ZJ thru Charaleau Gap (near Tucson) and was so impressed with what the coils can do, He wants to convert his H3. He has already built a 3/4 ton F250 into a mudding truck with massive articulation, so he's no novice to it. Does anyone here know if it's been done? Where would he go to see if the rear half of a long arm kit for a ZJ or WJ could be made to fit?
I told him to go buy a ZJ and build it, but he likes his H3.

Thanks for any help, Doug

OverkillZJ
04-28-2008, 03:49 PM
Hasn't been done to my knowledge, but it should be no different than any other leaf to coil conversion: build some coil perches, build some control arms, and wheel it.

tywilson88
04-28-2008, 08:12 PM
yeah thats a good idea, take a $30,000 hummer and make it like a jeep... sounds like a good idea to me...:smt075

GET A JK!
'h3 w/ coils' and it cheaper.

IndyZJ
04-28-2008, 08:40 PM
If he wants to improve the articulation, why not put a solid axle in the front with coils/ coil overs and ditch the ifs? Leafs can be made to flex fairly easily and still be very stable, which is important, too. Longer shackles at a good angle (mignt have to relocate the hanger) along with longer (relocated/ triangulated) shocks will do a lot in that department.

PassRunnerZJ
04-28-2008, 10:34 PM
This is funny especially since an H2 has coils, why they changed, oh wait to save money... Like it has been said cut, weld, and fab. Since you are stating out from scratch you should model it after other four links vs. using a track bar but then you will have to make sure you have clearance underneath.