PDA

View Full Version : Questions on 12 valve dodge diesel?

2jeepsforus
01-29-2008, 01:33 PM
Hey guys, I am entertaining the idea of picking up a 1998 Dodge 2500 extended cab with long box, 5.9 Inline 6, manual (with new clutch) and new upper and lower ball joints, and fuel pump. The price is at regular book value right now and seems pretty fair to me.

My question is does the 12 valve need more or less maintenance compared to the 24 valve. This truck has 207k on the ticker too, but sounds like it has been cared for. The guy used it for pulling horse trailers and a goose neck trailer with a 40 horse diesel tractor. So it does work pretty hard.

I'm new to the diesel world and have always wanted one, before the big craze came about, just looking for some input on this motor and truck as a package.

Thanks,
Dave

tywilson88
01-29-2008, 02:38 PM
the 12 valve is more reliable than the 24 valve

slim616
01-29-2008, 05:05 PM
To be honest I dont really like them because of the lack of power when it comes to pulling weight up a hill. Also keep in mind that alot of the hoses under the truck will need fixed if its seen much use in the salt. I have 3 friends that have around that model year and their all having problems with them.

newman187
01-29-2008, 08:12 PM
I have a 2007 Dodge CTD, 2500 3/4 ton, quad cab short bed and I love it, its a 24v and have towed with it a few times as I have only had it for a month but I love it. If you want to know whats what about Dodge follow this link, very good resource. . . .

http://www.dieseltruckresource.com/dev/index.php

Enjoy

cLAYH
01-29-2008, 11:49 PM
I have a 2001 24v Dodge Diesel. Has it about a year and so far so good.
Have chipped it, tranny mods, injectors.........