PDA

View Full Version : hydro assist ?'s

MUDDTRACKS
11-06-2007, 01:18 AM
Well I managed to sheer off the three bolts to the steering gear and wreck my kevins offroad steering brace. So time to upgrade and add assist.

I' thinking about the j-10 box but someone said i should use a s-10 box Im new to this feild and would like some insight.

Is there a rather cheap ram that would work.

And also would you recomend doing this--->http://westtexasoffroad.homestead.com/powersteering.html

thinking outside the box so dont shot me what about maybe a quick disconect for hydro assist maybe a valve you could turn of and a easy way to disconect it from the stearing itself. Right now i have no bump steer and rides str8 as could be on 37 bias iroks on the street. I can take a corner at any speed and the wheel centers right back when you let go.

adam99wj
11-06-2007, 04:40 PM
i did that mod to my jeep PS pump with no ill effects , makes steering real easy now on 35"s

paulkeith
11-07-2007, 05:22 PM
don't wanna be that guy, but go search "hydro assist" on pirate...there is a wealth of information over there.

from what i've seen, surplus center is where its at for an assist ram. i've bumped up the flow/pressure on my chevy pump with the above method with no problem. turned 36s standing still at idle like butter, but it was on a POS axle and i've yet to have it offroad.

MUDDTRACKS
11-07-2007, 06:49 PM
i have searched and searched and read alot about it but was hoping to hear from some the guys here.

Normaly i dont look to the web to get shit done but this one im kind of in the blue.

trying not to waste a shit load of cash on something just to find out it dont work.

paulkeith
11-07-2007, 07:26 PM