PDA

View Full Version : metal working boots

violatedppl
07-11-2007, 12:05 PM
Getting into the trade, and I am looking for a good pair of boots, Price really doesnt matter to me, as long as they are comfortable and will protect my feet. Just wondering what your boot of choice is?

KDUB
07-11-2007, 02:09 PM
I've worn Redwing for years. IMO you can't go wrong with 'em. I worked as a pipefitter for years and they held up well to that type of work. Most important is that they should feel comfortable when you put them on, no break in period needed.

DJJordache
07-11-2007, 03:39 PM
I'm not in metal working but am around heavy construction machinery often and I love my Doc Martins (the industrial line) not the normal light duty boots, very comfy to wear daily, steel toe, and resistant soles.

mudforblood
07-11-2007, 06:57 PM
I'm a sprinkler fitter that was on concrete floors all day and a lot of walking. I sit in a office now but still like Danner boots. I always had knee and lower back pain until I threw down the extra cash for Danner's. Only the USA made ones are worth it. They have some import line that is similar to Walmart boots, junk. They are more comfortable than any other shoe or hiking boot I can find.

http://www.danner.com/home.do

hkszx2
07-11-2007, 09:30 PM
I do commercial drywall hanging and metal framing and wear Bates. They are the same kind as the police and swat teams wear.

CurtP
07-11-2007, 10:03 PM
I wore Bates steel toed flight deck boots when I was in the Navy. Not the most comfortable, but those fuckers would take a beating and last a long time. However, I don't see the ones I used to get (100% leather, no nylon is allowed on your shoes when you're aboard a ship).

You may want to check an Army/Navy surplus store for a pair of steel toed flight deck boots. I'd avoid the Navy chukkas.

ILikeMud
07-11-2007, 10:26 PM
I just go and get some CSA green patch boots and work pays for them.
They ones I've got now are a bit hard on the feet after 8 hrs.